Posted in Battle, bonfire, Book, faith, fantasy, Fight, hope, new books, quotes, reading

If You like Red Queen, I Got A Book For You! |Blogmas Day 5

If you like books about an enslaved heroine who needs to start a rebellion to get her crown back, Ash Princess is for you! This book has gotten some hate due to it being just like every other book, but it’s honestly worth the read! The story reminded of the Red Queen in many ways but was different enough that it kept me entertained! This book could be triggering for some people; there is violence, rape (not graphic), and abuse.

Ash Princess is the first book written by Laura Sebastian, and I’m in love! This being her debut book, it’s so good, cliche, but amazing! One of my favorite things in this book is the love triangle! Theodosia develops feelings for a friend from her childhood, Blaise, and the prinz of the nation that took her captive, Søren. I love this triangle because there really isn’t someone that would be best for her. One is being overrun by power, and the other is the heir to the nation that enslaved her. I really love her relationship between her and Søren. Søren is like a lot of princes in books, he doesn’t like his father’s policies, wants to change the world, and wants peace. They are the typical, star-crossed lovers, but she will not admit that she is in love with him. She’s not even sure that it is true.

This book had a pretty dark side to it. The Kalovaxian have a history of going from place to place, killing, and enslaving people. As the book goes on, Theo learns that they also raped some of these people as well. The king also sews the mouth shut of the servants in the place. Not to mention the number of people that he has starving in the mines.

It did take me about 100 pages to get into the book, but once I got there, I couldn’t stop reading! I stayed up all night to read the book! I can’t wait to read the sequel Lady Smoke! I am hopeful that the sequel will stray away from all the other books like this, but keep its charm! 

Author:

just a girl who loves reading, cats, tea, and coffee

2 thoughts on “If You like Red Queen, I Got A Book For You! |Blogmas Day 5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.